| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Philosopher

Joined: 06 Aug 2008 Posts: 106 Location: California
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 5:07 am Post subject: Need second opinion to see if this is fake |
|
|
Hey guys. I need a second opinion on this item:
REMOVED
It's from California, not Hong Kong or China so that's a good sign.
Price is questionable, but I would like to have it if it's legit.
I contacted the seller about more detailed pictures and here's what they said:
| Quote: |
Hello,
Thanks for your interest!
We are sorry, we don't have any picture or photo with this item.
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.
Thank You!
Best Regards,
Customer Service
eToyer
YesAnimation
=======================================
etoyer
yesanimation
Welcome to the largest and most reliable toy store!
======================================== |
I then checked their websites and didn't find anything too definitive.
So what do you all think?
There are more out there on ebay, but this was the best price. I checked with more reliable retailers and they're all sold out.
Here's another one that I'm somewhat more confident about but didn't hear back from the seller yet:
REMOVED
Here's the official page for the figure:
http://www.kotobukiya.co.jp/item/page/pvc_shiningtears_blancneige/index.shtml
And AkibaHobby's review:
http://akibahobby.net/2007/09/kotobukiya_bran_review.html
Last edited by Philosopher on Fri Aug 22, 2008 12:23 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
lovelyduckie

Joined: 27 Feb 2008 Posts: 3464
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 5:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm inclined to believe that both those figures are authentic since I don't think there is a bootleg of her. Plus the places are in the US, and their feedback doesn't have people yelling "BOOTLEG!!" _________________
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Philosopher

Joined: 06 Aug 2008 Posts: 106 Location: California
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, next time I should keep my mouth shut.
Seems that someone bought it... Odd coincidence... Isn't it?
Well, it may really be a coincidence... Hmm.
Thanks lovelyduckie. Bought another one for around the same price. And I guess I'm more confident in this seller anyway. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
shinobi2u

Joined: 29 Jun 2008 Posts: 1144
|
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
eToyer is pretty authentic. Location is an important factor but just because it's in the USA doesn't mean anything. There are bootleg sellers even on Yahoo! Japan, so always be wary.
Guess they couldn't provide pics because the item is in their warehouse.
As for feedback, check the products in the store to look at known bootlegged figures or items. Then, check toolhaus.org to see overall negative feedback. There are a lot of people who don't mention it being bootleg for whatever their reasons are. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Philosopher

Joined: 06 Aug 2008 Posts: 106 Location: California
|
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 4:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| shinobi2u wrote: |
eToyer is pretty authentic. Location is an important factor but just because it's in the USA doesn't mean anything. There are bootleg sellers even on Yahoo! Japan, so always be wary.
Guess they couldn't provide pics because the item is in their warehouse.
As for feedback, check the products in the store to look at known bootlegged figures or items. Then, check toolhaus.org to see overall negative feedback. There are a lot of people who don't mention it being bootleg for whatever their reasons are. |
Yups, did that all thanks to advice I saw on the forums before.
The prices just threw me off and it was the stores and members that I had no experience with. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
dexterngo
Joined: 21 Feb 2008 Posts: 143 Location: Philippines
|
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
eToyer is legit, i also buy from them  _________________
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
agr964

Joined: 07 Aug 2008 Posts: 839 Location: California's Heartland
|
Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
| I bought a few things recently from etoyer/yesanimation. While their selection is a bit limited, they are legit and are a pleasure to do business with. Just have to watch out, since they have both an online store and an E-bay store, sometimes they sell out of things while still being listed as "In Stock". I've had a couple instances of that happening, but they are quick on the refund, and quite apologetic =P |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Philosopher

Joined: 06 Aug 2008 Posts: 106 Location: California
|
Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I ultimately bought it from member darthrobo.
He failed to mention that three corners of the figure's box were dented and bent, and the window plastic was creased and blemished. The shipping box had no damage to it so I'm pretty sure it was like that before they shipped it.
Luckily though I'm not too concerned about the box, but when someone says "Brand new in factory sealed condition" I expect it to be that way and to mention anything that's happened to the box.
Of course I've tried to contact him. All silence... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
DukeKnightCuan68
Joined: 29 Nov 2008 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
| I had an experience with yesanimation, and while my doll wasn't bootleg it arrived poorly packaged and broken. Plus they refused to have it sent back for a replacement/refund because I opened it already. Now how was I supposed to know it was broken underneath the kimono until it was opened? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Guts Hawk Raider
Joined: 21 Jul 2009 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Necro post. Sorry guys, but I bought from yesanimation twice and I got a bootleg the 2nd time. Was for the Hobby Japan swimsuit Rider figure. Was obviously a bootleg since the figure itself was shiny and it had purple paint all over the face and body. I managed to exchange it for a 1st release Shunya Arisa figure (not even sure if that one is legit since it doesn't have any sticker or distributor info and I haven't opened it to inspect the quality) but it made me wary of them. I did get a regular and SDCC Sera-chan in my first order, and I think those were legit. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|